Everyone is welcome to use the Riverside County Library System. To get a free library card, you will need to show either a valid California Driver License with a current address or two forms of identification, one showing who you are and the other indicating your current California mailing address. Out-of-state visitors may purchase a card for $10. Children 15 and under may obtain a library card by returning an application form signed by a parent or legal guardian.
Download the application here or Register online here
Using your library card
The first time you use your card you may check out 2 items and after returning them, you may check out up to 30 items. Print and audio items check out for 2 weeks and may be renewed 4 times in person, by phone, or online as long as no one has reserved the item. Please have your library card available to renew. DVDs and videos may not be renewed.
The first card you receive is free. If you lose or damage your card, you can obtain a replacement card for $1.00. Please report a lost card immediately, as you may be liable for the first $50 in fines.
(books, recordings, paperbacks, magazines, pamphlets): $0.25 a day per item, $5.00 maximum per item.
(books, recordings. paperbacks, magazines, pamphlets): $0.10 a day per item, $3.00 maximum per item.
Videos and DVDs
(adult and children's): $0.25 a day per item, $5.00 maximum per item, As a courtesy, an overdue notice will be sent approximately 21 days after an item is due. Please return or renew items on or before the due date to avoid accruing fines.
Use of your card will be blocked if 5 or more items are overdue or if you have accrued S5.00 or more in unpaid fines.
Note: Some individual libraries have rental collections sponsored by their local Friends of the Library with different fees, fines, and loan periods.
LOST OR DAMAGED MATAERIALS
Sometimes books or other library materials are damaged or lost. You will be charged for damage or loss of materials borrowed on your card. There will also be a non-refundable $10.00 processing fee for lost cataloged items.
FINDING WHAT YOU WANT
If you cannot find what you are looking for, our staff will be happy to assist you. If the item you want is not in, we will reserve it for you at no charge and notify you when it is ready to be picked up. If an item is not owned by any library in the Inland Library Network, we will attempt to obtain the item for you outside our system for a fee of $5.00.
Bookmobile service is available in various communities in Riverside County. Contact the Coachella Valley Bookmobile or the Western County Bookmobile for locations and schedules.
Library Code of Conduct (click to download)
Covid-19 Code of Conduct (click to download)
Covid-19 Code of Conduct in Spanish (click to download)